Districts Athletics

On Tuesday was Districts Athlitics for Hokitika. Me and about 22 people from Kaniere school went.There were 5 schools present, Hokitika Primiry, St Marys, Kokatahi-kowhitirangi School, Kaniere School and Westland Highschool. Hokitika districts was at Westland Hight school, we got transported to Westland Hightschool by some parants. I went in Meia’s mums car with Meia, Indi, Essie and I. We left school at about 9:00 am and arrived at about 9:20 am. The first activaty of the day was the 800 meter for the year 5-6s that had qualified and wanted to do it. Then was the 1200 meter for the year 7-8 who qualified. After that my age group had a BYE, then we were off to discis. Then we had High jump after that, we were then sent to Long jump which had a different mat then I was familiar with. Next was suppose to be a BYE for us but since we were racing to get done before it started to rain we went straight to 60 meters. Instead of 60 meters we were suppose to do 80 meters but It didn’t really matter we just did 80 meters after shotput. At shotput we got a practis throw before the real gos. Next was the 80 meters, In both of the sprints there were 2 heats I was in the first heat for both of them. We were suppose to do a relay race but it was just about to rain so we didn’t. In the end I think I placed in four events mabe out of the Seven or eight that I qualified for, The events were 800 meter second, Discus First, Shotput Second and High jump second.  I had a really fun time and it was the first time that I have been to districts!

Have you ever been to districts for athletics?

Whats your favorite Activaty in Athletics?

One thought on “Districts Athletics

  1. Great work Tara . I think I did 400 m running in athletics districts along time ago – I wasn’t very good .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *